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CHAPTER 5 – BUSINESS REGULATIONS 
 

Article 1 – Alcoholic Beverages 

SECTION 5-101:  DEFINITIONS 

All words and phrases herein used shall have the definitions applied thereto as de-
fined in the Liquor Control Act of the State of Nebraska. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-103) 
 
SECTION 5-102:  ACQUISITION AND POSSESSION; GENERAL PROHIBITIONS;  

It shall be unlawful for any person to purchase, receive, acquire, accept, or possess 
any alcoholic liquor acquired from any other person other than one duly licensed to 
handle alcoholic liquor under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act. Nothing in this section 
shall prevent: 
 
 A. The possession of alcoholic liquor for the personal use of the possessor 
and his or her family and guests, so long as the quantity of alcoholic liquor transport-
ed, imported, brought, or shipped into the state does not exceed nine liters in any 
one calendar month;  
 
 B. The making of wine, cider, or other alcoholic liquor by a person from fruits, 
vegetables, or grains or the products thereof by simple fermentation and without dis-
tillation, if made solely for the use of the maker and his or her family and guests;  
 
 C. Any duly licensed practicing physician or dentist from possessing or using 
alcoholic liquor in the strict practice of his or her profession, any hospital or other in-
stitution caring for sick and diseased persons from possessing and using alcoholic 
liquor for the treatment of bona fide patients of such hospital or other institution, or 
any drug store employing a licensed pharmacist from possessing or using alcoholic 
liquor in compounding of prescriptions of licensed physicians;  
 
 D. The possession and dispensation of wine by an authorized representative 
of any church for the purpose of conducting any bona fide rite or religious ceremony 
conducted by such church;  
 
 E. Persons who are 16 years old or older from carrying alcoholic liquor from li-
censed establishments when they are accompanied by a person not a minor;  
 
 F. Persons who are 16 years old or older from handling alcoholic liquor con-
tainers and alcoholic liquor in the course of their employment;  
 
 G. Persons who are 16 years old or older from removing and disposing of al-
coholic liquor containers for the convenience of the employer and customers in the 
course of their employment; or  
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 H. Persons who are 19 years old or older from serving or selling alcoholic liq-
uor in the course of their employment.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§53-168.06, 53-175, 53-194.03) (Am. Ord. Nos. 300, 9/2/80; 434, 9/3/85; 601, 
6/4/96; 682, 6/8/05) 
 
SECTION 5-103:  DRINKING ON PUBLIC PROPERTY; POSSESSION OF OPEN 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTAINER     

A. Except when the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission has issued a license 
as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-186(2), it is unlawful for any person to consume 
alcoholic liquor upon property owned or controlled by the state or any governmental 
subdivision thereof unless authorized by the governing body having jurisdiction over 
such property. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-186[1]) 
 

B. It is unlawful for any person in the passenger area of a motor vehicle to 
possess an open alcoholic beverage container while the motor vehicle is located in a 
public parking area or on any highway in this village. 
 

C. Except as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-186, it is unlawful for any person 
to consume an alcoholic beverage (1) in a public parking area or on any highway in 
this village or (2) inside a motor vehicle while in a public parking area or on any high-
way in this village. 
 

D.  For purposes of this division: 
 

1. “Alcoholic beverage” means (a) beer, ale porter, stout, and other similar 
fermented beverages, including sake or similar products, of any name or 
description containing one-half of one percent or more of alcohol by vol-
ume, brewed or produced from malt, wholly or in part, or from any substi-
tute therefor; (b) wine of not less than one-half of one percent of alcohol 
by volume; or (c) distilled spirits, which is that substance known as ethyl 
alcohol, ethanol, or spirits of wine in any form, including all dilutions and 
mixtures thereof from whatever source or by whatever process pro-
duced. “Alcoholic beverage” does not include trace amounts not readily 
consumable as a beverage; 

2. “Highway” means a road or street including the entire area within the 
right-of-way; 

3. “Open alcoholic beverage container” means any bottle, can, or other re-
ceptacle that (a) contains any amount of alcoholic beverage and (b) is 
open or has a broken seal or (c) the contents of which are partially re-
moved; and 

4. “Passenger area” means the area designed to seat the driver and pas-
sengers while the motor vehicle is in operation and any area that is 
readily accessible to the driver or a passenger while in their seating posi-



Village of DeWitt                                                                                                 Business Regulations 

 

tions, including any compartments in such area. “Passenger area” does 
not include the area behind the last upright seat of such motor vehicle if 
the area is not normally occupied by the driver or a passenger and the 
motor vehicle is not equipped with a trunk.  

(Neb. Rev. Stat. §60-6,211.08)  

 
SECTION 5-104:  CONSUMPTION IN PUBLIC PLACES; LICENSE 

A. It is unlawful for any person owning, operating, managing, or conducting 
any dance hall, restaurant, café, club, or any place open to the general public to 
permit or allow any person to consume alcoholic liquor upon the premises except as 
permitted by a license issued for such premises pursuant to the Nebraska Liquor 
Control Act. It is unlawful for any person to consume alcoholic liquor in any dance 
hall, restaurant, café, club, or any place open to the general public except as permit-
ted by a license issued for such premises pursuant to the act. This division does not 
apply to a retail licensee while lawfully engaged in the catering of alcoholic beverag-
es. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-186.01)  

 
B. Upon application for a special permit for the consumption of alcoholic liquor 

on public streets or other public places, the Village Board may permit such consump-
tion on such terms and conditions as it may determine. For such permit to be issued, 
written application must be made to the village clerk and the same must be acted up-
on at a special or regular meeting of the board. The terms and conditions for issu-
ance of a special permit shall be set forth in the minutes of the meeting at which such 
application is considered. 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-186.01) (Am. Ord. Nos. 372, 10/4/83; 450, 10/7/86) 

 
SECTION 5-105:  LICENSE REQUIRED 

It shall be unlawful for any person to manufacture for sale, sell, keep for sale, or to 
barter any alcoholic liquors within the village unless said person shall have in full 
force and effect a license as provided by the Nebraska Liquor Control Act. (Neb. Rev. 

Stat. §53-168.06)  
 
SECTION 5-106:  VILLAGE POWERS AND DUTIES 

A. The Village Board is authorized to regulate by ordinance, not inconsistent 
with the Nebraska Liquor Control Act, the business of all retail, craft brewery, and mi-
crodistillery licensees carried on within the corporate limits of the village.  

 
B. During the period of 45 days after the date of receiving from the Nebraska 

Liquor Control Commission an application for a new license to sell alcoholic liquor at 
retail or a craft brewery or micro-distillery license, the Village Board may make and 
submit to the commission recommendations relative to the granting or refusal to grant 
such license to the applicant.  

 
C. The Village Board, with respect to licenses within the corporate limits of the 



Village of DeWitt                                                                                                 Business Regulations 

 

village and with respect to Class D-1 licenses outside the corporate limits but within 
the extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction of the village, has the following powers, func-
tions, and duties with respect to retail, craft brewery, and microdistillery licenses: 
 

1. To cancel or revoke for cause retail, craft brewery, and microdistillery li-
censes to sell or dispense alcoholic liquor issued to persons for premises 
within its jurisdiction, subject to the right of appeal to the commission. 

2. To enter or authorize any law enforcement officer to enter at any time 
upon any premises licensed under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act (“the 
act”) to determine whether any provision of the act, any rule or regulation 
adopted and promulgated pursuant to the act, or any ordinance, resolu-
tion, rule, or regulation adopted by the Village Board has been or is being 
violated and at such time examine the premises of such licensee in con-
nection with such determination. 

3. To receive a signed complaint from any citizen within its jurisdiction that 
any provision of the act, any rule or regulation adopted and promulgated 
pursuant to the act, or any ordinance, resolution, rule, or regulation relat-
ing to alcoholic liquor has been or is being violated and to act upon such 
complaints in the manner provided in the act. 

4. To receive retail, craft brewery, and micro-distillery license fees as pro-
vided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §§53-124 and 53-124.01 and pay the same to 
the village treasurer after the license has been delivered to the applicant. 

5. To examine or cause to be examined any applicant or any retail, craft 
brewery, or micro-distillery licensee upon whom notice of cancellation or 
revocation has been served as provided in the act, to examine or cause 
to be examined the books and records of any applicant or licensee and 
to hear testimony and to take proof for its information in the performance 
of its duties. For purposes of obtaining any of the information desired, the 
Village Board may authorize its agent or attorney to act on its behalf. 

6. To cancel or revoke on its own motion any license if, upon the same no-
tice and hearing as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-134.04, it determines 
that the licensee has violated any of the provisions of the act or any valid 
and subsisting ordinance, resolution, rule, or regulation duly enacted, 
adopted, and promulgated relating to alcoholic liquor. Such order of can-
cellation or revocation may be appealed to the commission within 30 
days after the date of the order by filing a notice of appeal with the com-
mission, which shall handle the appeal in the manner provided for hear-
ing on an application in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-133. 

 7. Upon receipt from the commission of the notice and copy of application 
as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-131, to fix a time and place for a 
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hearing at which the Village Board shall receive evidence, either orally or 
by affidavit from the applicant and any other person, bearing upon the 
propriety of the issuance of a license. Notice of the time and place of 
such hearing shall be published in a legal newspaper in or of general cir-
culation in the village one time not less than seven and not more than 14 
days before the time of the hearing. Such notice shall include but not be 
limited to a statement that all persons desiring to give evidence before 
the Village Board in support of or in protest against the issuance of such 
license may do so at the time of the hearing. Said hearing shall be held 
not more than 45 days after the date of receipt of the notice from the 
commission. After such hearing the Village Board shall cause to be rec-
orded in the minute record of its proceedings a resolution recommending 
either issuance or refusal of such license. The village clerk shall mail to 
the commission by first class mail, postage prepaid, a copy of the resolu-
tion, which shall state the cost of the published notice, except that failure 
to comply with this provision shall not void any license issued by the 
commission. If the commission refuses to issue such a license, the cost 
of publication of notice shall be paid by the commission from the security 
for costs.  

D. When the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission mails or delivers to the vil-
lage clerk a license issued or renewed by it, the clerk shall deliver the license to the 
licensee upon proof of payment of (1) the license fee if, by the terms of Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §53-124(5), the fee is payable to the village treasurer; (2) any fee for publication 
of notice of hearing before the Village Board upon the application for license; and (3) 
the fee for publication of notice of renewal, if applicable, as provided in Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §53-135.01; and (4) occupation taxes, if any, imposed by the village. 

  
E. Notwithstanding any ordinance or charter power to the contrary, the village 

shall not impose an occupation tax on the business of any person, firm, or corpora-
tion licensed under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act and doing business within the 
corporate limits of the village in any sum which exceeds two times the amount of the 
license fee required to be paid under the act to obtain such license.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§53-131, 53-132, 53-134) (Am. Ord. Nos. 298, 9/2/80; 382, 11/1/83; 680, 6/8/05)  
 
SECTION 5-107:  LICENSEE REQUIREMENTS 

No liquor license shall be issued to any person unless he or she: is a resident of Ne-
braska; is a person of good character and reputation in the community; is a U.S. citi-
zen; has never been convicted of or pled guilty to a felony under the laws of this 
state, any other state, or the United States; has never been convicted of or pled guilty 
to any Class I misdemeanor pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-125; has never had a 
liquor license revoked for cause; and meets other requirements as provided in Neb. 
Rev. Stat. §53-125. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-125) (Am. Ord. Nos. 297, 9/2/80; 382, 11/1/83) 

 
SECTION 5-108:  LOCATION 
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A. It shall be unlawful for any person to own, maintain, manage, or hold open 
to the public any establishment for the purpose of selling at retail any alcoholic liquor 
within 150 feet of any church, school, hospital, or home for aged or indigent persons 
or for veterans, their wives, or children. This prohibition does not apply to any location 
within such distance when the said establishment has been licensed by the Nebraska 
Liquor Control Commission at least two years and to hotels offering restaurant ser-
vice, to regularly organized clubs, restaurants, food shops, or other places where the 
selling of alcoholic liquors is not the principal business carried on, if the business was 
licensed and in operation prior to May 24, 1935. No alcoholic liquor other than beer 
shall be sold for consumption on the premises within 300 feet from the campus of any 
college within the village. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-177) 

 
 B. If a proposed location for the sale at retail of any alcoholic liquor is within 
150 feet of any church, a license may be issued if the commission gives notice to the 
affected church and holds a hearing as prescribed in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-133.  
 
  C. No alcoholic liquor, other than beer, shall be sold for consumption on the 
premises within 300 feet from the campus of any college within the village, except 
this section: 
 

1.  Does not prohibit a nonpublic college or university from contracting with 
an individual or corporation holding a license to sell alcoholic liquor at re-
tail for the purpose of selling alcoholic liquor at retail on the campus of 
such college or university at events sanctioned by such college or uni-
versity but does prohibit the sale of alcoholic liquor at retail by such li-
censee on the campus of such nonpublic college or university at student 
activities or events; and 

2.  Does not prohibit sales of alcoholic liquor by a community college culi-
nary education program pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-124.15.  

(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-177) 

 
SECTION 5-109:  ACCESS TO DWELLINGS 

Except in the case of hotels and clubs, no alcoholic liquor shall be sold at retail upon 
any premises having any access which leads from such premises to any other por-
tion of the same building used for dwelling or lodging purposes and which is permit-
ted to be used or kept accessible for use by the public. Nothing herein shall prevent 
any connection with such premises and such other portion of the building that is used 
only by the licensee, his or her family, or personal guests. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-178) 
 
SECTION 5-110:  SANITARY CONDITIONS 

It shall be unlawful to open for public use any retail liquor establishment that is not in 
a clean and sanitary condition. Toilet facilities shall be adequate and convenient for 
customers and patrons and said licensed premises shall be subject to any health in-
spections which the Village Board or the village police may make or cause to be 



Village of DeWitt                                                                                                 Business Regulations 

 

made. All applications for liquor licenses shall be viewed in part from the standpoint 
of the sanitary conditions, and a report concerning the said sanitary conditions shall 
be made at all hearings concerning the application for or renewal of a liquor license. 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-118) 

 
SECTION 5-111:  CATERING LICENSE 

 A. The holder of a Class C, Class D, or Class I license issued under Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §53-124(5) or a craft brewery license may obtain an annual catering license by 
filing an application and license fee with the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission. 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-124.12[1]) 
 
 B. Upon receipt from the commission of the notice and copy of the application 
as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-124.12, the Village Board shall process the appli-
cation in the same manner as provided in Section 5-106 (Village Powers and Duties). 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-124.12) 
 
SECTION 5-112:  DISPLAY OF LICENSE  

Every licensee under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act shall cause his or her license 
to be framed and hung in plain public view in a conspicuous place on the licensed 
premises. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-148) 

 
SECTION 5-113:  HOURS OF SALE  

A. For the purposes of this section: 
 

1. "On sale" shall be defined as alcoholic beverages sold by the drink for 
consumption on the premises of the licensed establishment.  

2. "Off sale" shall be defined as alcoholic beverages sold at retail in the 
original container for consumption off the premises of the licensed estab-
lishment.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any licensed person or persons or their agents to sell 
at retail or dispense any alcoholic beverages within the village except during the 
hours provided herein: 

 
 

Alcoholic Liquors (except Beer and Wine) 

Monday through Saturday 

     Off Sale 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. 

     On Sale  6:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. 

Sunday 

     Off Sale  12:00 noon to 1:00 a.m. 

     On Sale  12:00 noon to 2:00 a.m. 
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Beer and Wine 

Monday through Saturday 

     Off Sale 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. 

     On Sale 6:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. 

Sunday 

     Off Sale 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. 

     On Sale 6:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. 

 
C. Such limitations shall not apply after 12:00 noon on Sunday to a licensee 

which is a nonprofit corporation and the holder of a Class C or Class I license. 
 

D. It shall be unlawful on property licensed to sell alcoholic liquor at retail to al-
low alcoholic liquor in open containers to remain or be in possession or control of any 
person for purposes of consumption between 15 minutes after the closing hour appli-
cable to the licensed premises and 6:00 a.m. on any day. 
 

E. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit licensed premises from 
being open for other business on days and hours during which this section prohibits 
the sale or dispensing of alcoholic beverages. 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-179) (Am. Ord. Nos. 253, 9/5/78; 333, 10/6/81; 377, 11/1/83; 532, 4/5/94; 724, 
7/14/10) 

 
SECTION 5-114:  INSPECTIONS 

The Liquor Control Commission and Village Board shall cause frequent inspections 
to be made on the premises of all retail licensees and if it is found that any such li-
censee is violating any provision of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act or the rules and 
regulations of the commission adopted and promulgated under the act or is failing to 
observe in good faith the purposes of the act, the license may be suspended, can-
celed, or revoked after the licensee is given an opportunity to be heard in his or her 
defense. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-116.01) (Ord. No. 301, 9/2/80) 
 
SECTION 5-115:  OWNER OF PREMISES 
 
The owner of any premises used for the sale at retail of alcoholic beverages shall be 
deemed guilty of a violation of these laws to the same extent as the said licensee if 
the owner shall knowingly permit the licensee to use the said licensed premises in 
violation of any municipal code section or Nebraska statute. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-1,101) 

 
SECTION 5-116:  EMPLOYER 

The employer of any officer, director, manager, or employee working in a retail liquor 
establishment shall be held to be liable and guilty of any act or omission or violation 
of any law or ordinance. Each such act or omission shall be deemed and held to be 
the act of the employer and will be punishable in the same manner as if the said act 
or omission had been committed by him or her personally. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-1,102) 
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SECTION 5-117:  HIRING MINORS 

It shall be unlawful for any person to hire minors under the age of 19 years to serve 
or dispense alcoholic liquors, including beer, in the course of their employment. (Neb. 

Rev. Stat. §53-168.06) 
 
SECTION 5-118:  MINOR'S PRESENCE 

It shall be unlawful for any person or persons who own, manage, or lease an estab-
lishment selling alcoholic beverages at retail to allow any minor under the age of 18 
years to frequent or otherwise remain in the said establishment unless the said minor 
is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian and unless said minor remains seated 
with and under the immediate control of the said parent or legal guardian. (Neb. Rev. 

Stat. §53-134.03) 
 
SECTION 5-119:  MINORS AND INCOMPETENTS   
 
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to sell, give away, dispose of, ex-
change, permit the sale of, or make a gift of any alcoholic liquors or to procure any 
such alcoholic liquors to or for any minor or any person who is mentally incompetent. 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-180)  
 
SECTION 5-120:  CREDIT SALES 

No person shall sell or furnish alcoholic liquor at retail to any person on credit, on a 
passbook, on an order on a store, in exchange for any goods, wares, or merchan-
dise, or in payment for any services rendered. If any person extends credit for any 
such purpose, the debt thereby attempted to be created shall not be recoverable at 
law. Nothing in this section shall prevent any club holding a Class C license from 
permitting checks or statements for alcoholic liquor to be signed by members or 
guests of members and charged to the accounts of the said members or guests in 
accordance with the bylaws of any such club; and nothing in this section shall prevent 
any hotel or restaurant holding a retail alcoholic beverage license from permitting 
checks or statements for liquor to be signed by regular guests residing in the said ho-
tel and charged to the accounts of such guests. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-183) (Am. Ord. No. 

256. 9/5/78) 

SECTION 5-121:  ORIGINAL PACKAGE 

It shall be unlawful for any person or persons who own, manage, or lease any prem-
ises in which the sale of alcoholic beverages is licensed to have in their possession 
for sale at retail any alcoholic liquors contained in bottles, casks, or other containers 
except in the original package. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the refilling of 
original packages of alcoholic liquor for strictly private use and not for resale. (Neb. 

Rev. Stat. §53-184) (Am. Ord. No. 512, 6/2/92) 
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SECTION 5-122:  CONDUCT PROHIBITED ON LICENSED PREMISES 

No licensee in this village shall engage in, allow, or suffer in or upon the licensed 
premises any disturbances, lewdness, immoral activities or displays, brawls, or un-
necessary noise or allow, permit or suffer the licensed premises to be used in such a 
manner as to create public censure or become a nuisance, public or private. 
 
SECTION 5-123:  AUTOMATIC LICENSE RENEWAL; PROTESTS 

A. Outstanding retail licenses issued by the commission may be automatically 
renewed in the absence of a request by the Village Board to require the said licensee 
to submit an application for renewal. Any licensed retail or bottle club establishment 
located in an area which is annexed to the village shall file a formal application for a 
license and while such application is pending, the licensee shall be authorized to 
continue all license privileges pursuant to this article until the original license expires 
or is canceled or revoked. If such license expires within 60 days following the annex-
ation date of such area, the license may be renewed by order of the commission for 
not more than one year.  

 
B. The village clerk, upon notice from the commission, shall cause to be pub-

lished in a legal newspaper in or of general circulation in the village one time be-
tween January 10 and January 30 each year a notice in the form prescribed by law of 
the right of automatic renewal of each retail liquor and beer license within the village; 
provided, Class C license renewal notices shall be published between July 10 and 
July 30 each year. The village clerk shall then file with the commission proof of publi-
cation of said notice on or before February 10 of each year or August 10 of each year 
for Class C licenses. Upon the conclusion of any hearing required by this section, the 
Village Board may request a licensee to submit an application.  

 
C. In the event written protests are filed by three or more residents of the vil-

lage against said license and a hearing is held, the Village Board may request a li-
censee to submit an application as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-135.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §§53-135, 53-135.01) (Am. Ord. No. 382, 11/1/83) 
 
SECTION 5-124:  CITIZEN COMPLAINTS 

 A. Any five residents of the village shall have the right to file a complaint with 
the Village Board stating that any retail licensee subject to the jurisdiction of the 
board has been or is violating any provision of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act or the 
rules or regulations issued pursuant to the act. Such complaint shall be in writing in 
the form prescribed by the Village Board and shall be signed and sworn by the par-
ties complaining. The complaint shall state the particular provision, rule, or regulation 
believed to have been violated and the facts in detail upon which belief is based.  
 
 B. If the Village Board is satisfied that the complaint substantially charges a 
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violation and that from the facts alleged there is reasonable cause for such belief, it 
shall set the matter for hearing within ten days from the date of the filing of the com-
plaint and shall serve notice upon the licensee of the time and place of such hearing 
and of the particular charge in the complaint. The complaint must in all cases be dis-
posed of by the Village Board within 30 days from the date the complaint was filed by 
resolution thereof and said resolution shall be deemed the final order for purposes of 
appeal to the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§53-1,115. 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-134.04) (Ord. No. 302, 9/2/80) 

 
SECTION 5-125:  FORM FOR CITIZEN COMPLAINT 

The following form is hereby prescribed for the use of residents of this village desiring 
to complain to the chairman and the Village Board that any licensee is violating any 
provision of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act, regulations prescribed by the Nebraska 
Liquor Control Commission, or any provision of this ordinance:  
 
To the Chairman and Village Board of the Village of DeWitt, Nebraska: 
 
The undersigned respectfully state: 
 
 1.  That each one is a resident of the Village of DeWitt, Nebraska. 
 
 2.  That they believe that ______________, the holder of a Class ___ license 
in the aforesaid village, has violated Section _________ of (check one or more): 
 
 _____ the Nebraska Liquor Control Act. 

_____ the regulations prescribed by the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission. 
 _____ the municipal code of the Village of DeWitt, Nebraska. 
 
 3.  That the aforesaid belief is based on the following facts, to-wit: 
 
 ______________________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________       ________________________________ 
(Name)             (Name) 

________________________________       ________________________________ 
(Name)                         (Name) 

                     ________________________________ 
                     (Name) 

STATE OF NEBRASKA ) 
    ) ss. 
COUNTY OF SALINE ) 
 
 Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me by ______________, 
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______________, ______________, ______________, and ______________ this 
_____ day of _____________, 20____. 
 
 My commission expires ______________________. 
 
       ______________________________ 
       Notary Public  

 
SECTION 5-126:  COMPLAINT INITIATED BY BOARD 

The Village Board may on its own motion by resolution fix the time and place for a 
hearing on whether a licensee has violated any section of the Nebraska Liquor Con-
trol Act, the regulations of the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission, or this code, 
which resolution shall state the section or sections in question. Said resolution shall 
be served in the same manner and within the same time as the initial resolution men-
tioned in Section 5-124 (Citizen Complaints), and insofar as possible the procedure 
shall be the same as is provided in that section. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-134) 
 
SECTION 5-127:  REVOCATION OF LICENSE 

Whenever any licensee has been convicted by any court of a violation of the Nebras-
ka Liquor Control Act, the licensee may, in addition to the penalties for such offense, 
incur a forfeiture of the license and all money that had been paid for the license. The 
Village Board may conditionally revoke the license subject to a final order of the Liq-
uor Control Commission or the commission may revoke the license in an original pro-
ceeding brought before it for that purpose. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-116.02) 
 
SECTION 5-128:  CHANGE OF PREMISES 

Any retailer licensee desiring to transfer his or her license from one premises to an-
other shall file a written request for permission to do so with the village clerk and shall 
also file with said clerk a sworn statement showing that the premises to which re-
moval is to be made comply in all respects with the requirements of the Nebraska 
Liquor Control Act, as amended. The village clerk shall present said application and 
statement to the Village Board at its next meeting and it shall by resolution approve 
or disapprove the transfer. If the transfer is approved, the said approval shall be en-
dorsed on the license by the chairman and attested by the village clerk. 
 
SECTION 5-129:  REMOVAL OF INTOXICATED PERSONS FROM PUBLIC OR 

QUASI-PUBLIC PROPERTY  
 

A. All law enforcement officers with power to arrest for traffic violations may 
take a person who is intoxicated and in the judgment of the officer dangerous to him-
self, herself, or others or who is otherwise incapacitated from any public or quasi-
public property. An officer removing an intoxicated person from public or quasi-public 
property shall make a reasonable effort to take such intoxicated person to his or her 
home or to place such person in any hospital, clinic, or alcoholism center or with a 
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medical doctor as may be necessary to preserve life or to prevent injury. Such effort 
at placement shall be deemed reasonable if the officer contacts those facilities or 
doctors which have previously represented a willingness to accept and treat such in-
dividuals and which regularly do accept such individuals. If such efforts are unsuc-
cessful or are not feasible, the officer may then place such intoxicated person in civil 
protective custody, except that civil protective custody shall be used only so long as 
is necessary to preserve life or to prevent injury and under no circumstances for 
longer than 24 hours. 

 
B. The placement of such person in civil protective custody shall be recorded 

at the facility or jail to which he or she is delivered and communicated to his or her 
family or next of kin, if they can be located, or to such person designated by the per-
son taken into civil protective custody. 

 
C. The law enforcement officer who acts in compliance with this section shall 

be deemed to be acting in the course of his or her official duty and shall not be crimi-
nally or civilly liable for such actions. 

 
D. The taking of an individual into civil protective custody under this section 

shall not be considered an arrest. No entry or other record shall be made to indicate 
that the person has been arrested or charged with a crime. 

 
E. For purposes of this section, “public property” shall mean any public right of 

way, street, highway, alley, park, or other state-, county-, or village-owned property. 
"Quasi-public property" shall mean and include private or publicly owned property uti-
lized for proprietary or business uses which invites patronage by the public or which 
invites public ingress and egress.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-1,121) (Ord. Nos. 280, 9/4/79; 334, 10/6/81) 
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Article 2 – Sales and Advertising 

SECTION 5-201:  PEDDLERS AND SOLICITORS; REGISTRATION; ISSUANCE 
OF PERMIT  

A. To prevent the sale of fraudulent, dangerous, and unhealthful goods 
and services and to protect the public by maintaining records of the products sold 
and the persons and companies responsible for such sales, all peddlers and solici-
tors shall register with the village clerk before doing business within the village. Said 
registration shall contain all the necessary information and documents required by 
the Village Board.  
 

B. Any person or persons granted a peddlers’ and solicitors’ permit shall be 
subject to any rules and regulations which the board deems appropriate for the pur-
poses stated herein, as well as any fees set by the board by resolution and placed on 
file in the office of the village clerk.  
 

C. Any permit so granted shall be subject to revocation for good and sufficient 
cause. It shall be unlawful for a solicitor, salesperson, or peddler to solicit without 
a proper permit on his or her person at all times.   
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §17-525) 

 
SECTION 5-202:  PEDDLERS AND SOLICITORS; EXCEPTIONS 

Nothing herein shall be construed to apply to any person or persons selling produce 
raised within the county, to wholesale companies or their agents soliciting merchants 
directly, or to representatives of a non-profit or charity organization soliciting on be-
half of that organization. 
 
SECTION 5-203:  PEDDLERS AND SOLICITORS; HOURS 

It shall be unlawful to make calls as a solicitor or peddler to prospective customers 
before 8:00 a.m. or after 6:00 p.m. any day unless requested to do so by the pro-
spective customer. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §17-134) 
 
SECTION 5-204:  SIGNS; PERMIT REQUIRED 
 
Any person or persons wishing to erect or cause to be erected any advertising dis-
play, sign, or other construction for the purpose of advertising on or over any village 
property shall make an application to the village clerk. Such application shall contain 
all the necessary information and documents which the Village Board deems appro-
priate. The Village Board shall then assign to a sign committee the duty to consider 
such application, to visit the proposed location of the contemplated construction, and 
to recommend the acceptance or rejection of the proposed application. If the Village 
Board accepts the application, they shall then direct the village clerk to issue the said 
permit. Any person(s) granted a sign permit shall be subject to any fees, taxes or 
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other rules and regulations which the Village Board deems appropriate. Any permit 
so granted shall be subject to revocation for good and sufficient cause by the Village 
Board. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §17-207) 
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Article 3 – Occupation Taxes 

SECTION 5-301:  AMOUNTS; EXCEPTION 

A. For the purpose of raising revenue, occupations subject to taxes and the 
amounts of such taxes shall be established by ordinance from time to time by the Vil-
lage Board. Said ordinance shall be on file in the office of the village clerk, available 
for public inspection during office hours. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §17-525)  
 
 B. No non-profit corporation, association or other entity exempt from federal 
income tax pursuant to the federal internal revenue laws shall be subject to any oc-
cupation tax upon its activities, including without limitation its sale of alcoholic bever-
ages pursuant to any class of liquor license issued by the State of Nebraska.  
(Am. Ord. No. 5/2/73; 386, 1/3/84; 451, 10/7/86) 

 
SECTION 5-302:  FIRE INSURANCE COMPANIES 
 
For the use, support, and maintenance of the Fire Department, all revenue realized 
from the occupation tax on fire insurance companies shall be appropriated to the Fire 
Department fund. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §35-106) 
 
SECTION 5-303:  COLLECTION DATE 
 
All occupation taxes shall be due and payable on May 1 each year, except in the 
event that the said tax is levied daily. Upon the payment thereof by any person or 
persons, the village clerk shall give a receipt, properly dated and specifying the per-
son paying the said tax and the amount paid; provided, occupation taxes collected 
from Class C liquor licensees shall be due and payable on November 1. The revenue 
collected shall then be immediately deposited into the general fund by the village 
treasurer. The village treasurer shall keep an accurate account of all revenue turned 
over to him or her. All forms and receipts herein mentioned shall be issued in dupli-
cate and one copy shall then be kept by each party in the transaction. (Neb. Rev. Stat. 

§17-525) (Am. Ord. No. 230, 3/1/77) 

 
SECTION 5-304:  CERTIFICATE 
 
The receipt issued after the payment of any occupation tax shall be the Occupation 
Tax Certificate. The said certificate shall specify the amount of the tax and the name 
of the person and business that paid the said tax. The Occupation Tax Certificate 
shall then be displayed in a prominent place or carried in such a way as to be easily 
accessible while business is being conducted. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §17-525) 
 
SECTION 5-305:  FAILURE TO PAY 

If any person, company, or corporation fails or neglects to pay the occupation taxes 
as provided herein on the day they become due and payable, the village shall then 
proceed by civil suit to collect the amount due. All delinquent taxes shall bear interest 
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at the rate of 1% per month until paid. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §17-525) 
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Article 4 – Railroads 

SECTION 5-401:  SAFE CROSSING 

It shall be the duty of every railroad company doing business in or traveling through 
the village to keep in a suitable and safe condition the crossings and right of way in 
the village. If any such crossing shall at any time fall into disrepair and become un-
safe or inconvenient for public travel, the Village Board may by resolution call upon 
the said company to make whatever repairs may be deemed necessary to correct the 
dangerous condition. Notice of the said resolution shall be served upon the local 
agent of the said company. In the event that the railroad shall fail or neglect to repair 
and correct the said condition as aforesaid within 30 days, neglect for each 24 hours 
thereafter shall be deemed and is hereby made a separate and distinct offense 
against the provisions herein. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§17-551, 17-552) 
 
SECTION 5-402:  DRAINAGE 

It shall be the duty of every railroad company doing business in or traveling through 
the village to construct and keep in repair ditches, drains and culverts along and un-
der their railroad tracks at all places within the corporate limits. When there shall be 
failure or neglect to do so and correct the condition, the Village Board shall by resolu-
tion call upon the proper railroad company to construct or repair the said drainage. A 
copy of such resolution shall be served upon the local agent of the company, which 
shall order such repairs or construction to be done within 14 days after service there-
of. Neglect for each 24 hours thereafter shall be deemed, and is hereby made a sep-
arate and distinct offense against the provisions herein. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§17-551, 17-552) 
 
SECTION 5-403:  OBSTRUCTING TRAFFIC 
 
It shall be unlawful for any railroad company, its employees, or agents operating a 
railroad through the village to obstruct traffic on any public street, except in the event 
of an emergency, for a longer period than ten minutes at one time. (Neb. Rev. Stat. 

§§17-551, 17-552) 

 
SECTION 5-404:  SIGNALS 
 
It shall be the duty of every train passing through the corporate limits to properly sig-
nal its approach with lights and signals appropriate to warn the residents of the vil-
lage of such approach. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§17-551, 17-552) 

 
SECTION 5-405:  LIGHTING 
 
It shall be the duty of all railroad companies owning, operating and maintaining a rail-
road through the village to sufficiently light all crossings and to install as many signal 
systems as the Village Board shall deem necessary at the expense of the said com-
pany. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§17-551, 17-552, 17-561) 
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SECTION 5-406:  SPEED LIMIT; PROCEDURE 
 
No speed limitation ordinance which would directly affect the operations of an inter-
state railroad shall be valid or enforceable unless its adoption is in compliance with 
this section. Before the first reading of the proposed ordinance, the railroad whose 
operations would be directly affected by the ordinance shall be given written notice 
by United States mail of the proposed ordinance and the date, time and place of such 
reading. Such notice shall be given at least ten days prior to the reading. The affect-
ed railroad(s) shall have an opportunity to be heard at the first reading. After enact-
ment the railroad(s) whose operations would be directly affected shall be provided a 
written or printed copy of the ordinance by United States mail. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§17-551, 

17-552) (Ord. No. 335, 10/6/81) 

 
SECTION 5-407:  CROSSINGS; OBSTRUCTING VIEW PROHIBITED 
 
It shall be unlawful for any railroad company to obstruct or obscure the traveling pub-
lic's view by storing or parking any railroad car on a railroad track within 50 feet of the 
crossing of any such railroad track and a public road within the corporate limits of the 
village; provided, however, in no instance shall any person who is authorized to con-
trol the movement of such railroad car(s) within such distance be prevented from rea-
sonably conducting his or her business. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §74-1323) (Ord. No. 433, 9/3/85) 
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Article 5 – Penal Provision 

SECTION 5-501:  VIOLATION; PENALTY 

Any person who shall violate or refuse to comply with the enforcement of any of the 
provisions of this chapter, set forth at full length herein or incorporated by reference, 
shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be fined 
not more than $500.00 for each offense. A new violation shall be deemed to have 
been committed every 24 hours of such failure to comply. 
 


